Ruppert-Composite Logo
English
German

PORTRAIT

Short Description

The Archaeopteryx is a versatile high-end hang-glider in sailplane configuration with exceptional climbing ability. The elaborately made glider has been designed for foot launch on mountain slopes and for a variety of other launch methods such as bungee launch taking off from a mountain or launches on airfields using the methods of car towing, winch towing, trike aerotow and ultralight / LSA aerotow.

Qualities

The new carbon glider’s particular distinctions are its minimal weight, its wide airspeed range and very low minimum airspeed plus the well-coordinated controllability and its adaptability, ensured by the large wing flap. It impresses with its very good flight abilities and straightforward handling.

Flight performance

The Archaeopteryx offers the pilot – thanks to its low sink rate and low airspeed – an outstanding climbing ability, efficiently using even the weakest and slightest lifts (microlift). This exceptional rate of climb and good gliding performance allow extended cross-country flights, even at low base and low altitude. The comfortable cockpit, optionally open or fully enclosed, plus the fatigue-free flight behavior inspire and invite to long flights.

Controls

The aerodynamic controls are operated with the side stick on the right, the flap lever on the left and the adjustable foot pedals. There is an efficient flap over the entire span of the wing, superimposed by the aileron deflection on the outside and extensible on the inside for descent assistance. A slow approach is possible thanks to the variable flap positions, allowing small-scale and stress-free landings on standard hang glider landing paddocks and the smallest outlanding fields. The Archaeopteryx is preferably landed on its wheels. Foot landing is possible.

Transport

The super-light glider is stored gently in its careful storage system. For transportation and for use as hangar, the lightweight special trailer made by the company “Clevertrailer” or the special trailer made by the company “Anschau” is recommended. The Archaeopteryx is designed for frequent, quick and easy rigging and de-rigging.

Rescue system

For safety, the Archaeopteryx is equipped with a specifically developed and tested rocket-powered light weight rescue system. The pilot is securely connected both to the plane and to the rescue system.

Ruppert-Composite Logo
English
German

PORTRAIT

Kurzbeschreibung

Der Archaeopteryx ist ein vielseitiger high-end Hängegleiter in Segelflugzeugkonfiguration mit aussergewöhnlicher Steigfähigkeit. Konzipiert ist das kunstvoll gefertigte Gleitflugzeug für den Fussstart von Berghängen sowie für eine Vielzahl weiterer Startarten wie Gummiseilstart vom Berg oder Auto-, Winden-, Flugzeug-, und UL-Schleppstarts von Flugplätzen.

Eigenschaften

Das neuartige Carbon Gleitflugzeug zeichnet sich besonders aus durch sein minimales Gewicht, den grossen Fluggeschwindigkeitsbereich mit sehr langsamer Minimalgeschwindigkeit, die in allen Konfigurationen gute koordinierte Steuerbarkeit sowie seiner Anpassungsfähigkeit durch die Wölbklappe. Es besticht mit seinem einfachen und sehr gutmütigen Flug- und Stallverhalten.

Flugleistung

Der Archaeopteryx offeriert dem Piloten durch geringstes Eigensinken und niedrigste Fluggeschwindigkeit eine herausragende Steigfähigkeit, was auch die Ausnutzung schwächster und engster Aufwinde (Micro-lift) ermöglicht. Diese aussergewöhnliche Steigleistung und die gute Gleitleistung ermöglichen ausgedehnte Streckenflüge auch bei tiefer Basis und geringer Operationshöhe. Das bequeme Cockpit, wahlweise offen oder voll verschalt, zusammen mit dem ermüdungsfreien Flugverhalten motivieren zu langen Flügen.

Steuerung

Die aerodynamische Steuerung wird rechtshändig mit dem Sidestick und linkshändig mit dem Klappenhebel sowie den einstellbaren Fusspedalen bedient. Der Flügel besitzt über die ganze Spannweite eine effiziente Wölbklappe, aussen vom Querruderausschlag überlagert und innen zum Bremsen als Abstiegshilfe weit ausfahrbar. Der langsame Anflug mit variablem Klappeneinsatz ermöglicht kleinräumige stressfreie Landungen auf gewöhnlichen Hängegleiterplätzen und kleinsten Aussenlandefeldern. Der Archaeopteryx wird vorzugsweise auf dem Fahrwerk gelandet. Die Fusslandung ist möglich.

Transport

Aufbewahrt wird das superleichte Flugzeug schonend im speziellen Lagerungssystem. Für den Transport und als Hangar empfiehlt sich der Leichtbau-Spezialanhänger der Firma „Clevertrailer“ oder der Spezialanhänger der Firma „Anschau“. Der Archaeopteryx ist für häufiges, einfaches, sehr rasches Auf- und Abbauen ausgelegt.

Rettungssystem

Zur Sicherheit verfügt der Archaeopteryx über ein speziell entwickeltes und erprobtes raketengetriebenes Leicht-Gesamt-Rettungssystem. Der Pilot ist mit Flugzeug und Rettungssystem sicher verbunden.